Nevada National Security Site (NNSS)
social media facebook twitter youtube flicker
Visitors at the Sedan Crater part of the NNSS tour
 

NNSS header

home

NNSS Home Page

 

NNSS Site Tours


The following documentation is necessary to register:

pdfIcon US ​Badging Form​

pdfIcon Foreign National Form

The Nevada Field Office (NFO) provides free general interest tours of the NNSS on a monthly basis. Groups, civic or technical organizations, and private clubs may request specially arranged tours – minimum of 25 people – by calling (702) 295-0944.

Media members seeking a tour of the NNSS should contact the Office of Public Affairs at
(702) 295-3521
.


Public Tour Logistics

Reservations are required for all tours.

Space is limited and seats fill quickly.


Please indicate on your paperwork with a first and second date of choice.

Most tours depart from the Atomic Testing Museum. Tours depart at approximately 7:30 a.m. and return at 4:00 p.m. Please make arrangements to arrive early enough for adequate parking. 

The mode of transportation provided is usually a chartered bus equipped with a restroom. 

The NNSS is located 65 miles northwest of Las Vegas, Nevada. Each tour usually covers about 250 miles. Tour participants may bring their own food and drinks, but lunch is available at the Bistro. Alcoholic beverages are prohibited.

Casual clothing is recommended, and sturdy shoes are required for the rugged terrain. Shorts or sandals are not permitted. 

Visitors to the NNSS must be at least 14 years old. Pregnant women are discouraged from participating in NNSS tours due to the long bus ride and uneven terrain.


      

Points of Interest on the Tour

pdf Mercury, NV

pdf Frenchman Flat
pdf Nonproliferation Test and Evaluation Complex

pdf Low-Level Radioactive Waste Management Site

pdf Sedan Crater

pdf T-1 Training Area

pdf Apple II Houses

Prohibited Items


Visitors are prohibited from bringing the following items:

  • Cameras or tape recorders
  • Binoculars or telescopes
  • Cell phones
  • Privately-owned laptop computer
  • Firearms

pdf Download a comprehensive List of Prohibited Items

2017 Public Tour Schedule

  • Tuesday - January 24, 2017 FULL
  • Tuesday - February 28, 2017 FULL
  • Tuesday - March 21, 2017 FULL
  • Tuesday - April 25, 2017 FULL
  • Tuesday - May 16, 2017 FULL
  • Tuesday - June 20, 2017 FULL
  • Tuesday - July 25, 2017
  • Tuesday - August 22, 2017
  • Tuesday - September 19, 2017
  • Tuesday - October 31, 2017
  • Tuesday - November 28, 2017
  • Tuesday - December 12, 2017

 

2016 Public Tour Schedule

  • Tuesday - January 26 FULL
  • Tuesday - February 23​ FULL
  • Tuesday - March 29 FULL
  • Tuesday - April 19 FULL
  • Tuesday - May 24 FULL
  • Tuesday - June 21 FULL
  • Tuesday - July 19 FULL
  • Tuesday - August 23 FULL
  • Tuesday - September 20 FULL
  • Tuesday - October 25 FULL
  • Tuesday - November 22 FULL
  • Tuesday - December 6 FULL

There is a possibility that the tour may be postponed for operational reasons. If this happens, you will be notified immediately.

If you would like to be added to the wait list, please complete the badging form and indicate which tour you wish to be added to the wait list.

 

How to Register

Complete the Badging Form or the Badging Form for Foreign Nationals and submit to:

Via fax:  (702) 295-0154

Or by mail:

U.S. Department of Energy
National Nuclear Security Administration
Nevada Field Office
Office of Public Affairs
Visit Coordination Staff
P.O. Box 98518
Las Vegas, NV 89193-8518

Participants will receive a confirmation package 7-10 days prior to the visit. The package will include the confirmation notice, itinerary, prohibited articles list, and a map (directions to the Atomic Testing Museum departure location).


For further information contact, please call (702) 295-0944 or email  Brenda.Carter@NNSA.doe.gov.